top of page

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura - First level of consciousness

Updated: Nov 18, 2019

From the previous energy centres of the unconscious (muladhara) and subconscious (svadisthana) and located in the upper abdomen the next level of our consciousness is the Manipura Chakra (solar plexus) which relates to self-esteem, warrior energy and the power of transformation and is also said to control metabolism and digestion. Within these physical attributes lies wisdom, clarity and confidence purifying you from jealousy, ignorance and laziness. The colour of the Manipura Chakra is yellow and the corresponding energy centre is fire.

The Manipura Chakra is the centre of vitality. It controls our energy balance to strengthen and consolidate our health. Being focused and consistent with your efforts align with how well and balanced your food management is. Like a locomotive train that uses coal to convert heat into steam, the food you eat will convert into the necessary energy for you to function at an optimal level.

The Manipura is basically the fire within you that will need to be fed and stoked properly. This fire needs to be a form of purification of wasteful thoughts and emotions in order to make better decisions, but not to the extent of burning off everything indiscriminately.

This Chakra regulates the function of the pancreas and the digestive organs. When blocked you may experience health problems including digestive disorders, circulatory disease, diabetes and fluctuations in blood pressure. You can have difficulties making decisions, have anger or control issues or low self-esteem. When the energy flows freely there will be a constant supply of vitality, presenting balance, strength and feelings of confidence, purpose and motivation.

As we continue to learn and turn knowledge into wisdom, our growth and development will start to expand and elevate. The Bija Mantra is RAM repeat this word during meditation when these energies are stuck, stagnant, imbalanced or blocked.

Asanas to focus on include:-

* Dhanurasana - bow pose

* Parvritta Trikonasana - revolved triangle pose

* Bhujangasana - cobra pose

* Paripurna Navasana - boat pose

* Ardha Matsyendrasana - half lord of the fishes pose

104 views1 comment

1 commentaire

Clare Bray
Clare Bray
21 sept. 2021

Greaat post

bottom of page