top of page

Heart Chakra - Anahata - Second level of consciousness

The Anahata Chakra is one of the most widely known and beautiful of the Chakras. It is in region of the heart (centre of chest) and is the seat of creativity and love. The colour of the Anahata Chakra is green and the corresponding element is air.

When love is abounding and infinite, we tend to be more creative of how we express ourselves inwardly and outwardly to the world around us. Our inner temple is a burning flame of life from within and radiates warmth of love and light. No matter how dim that light is during challenging times, that light will never burn out. Yoga will only strengthen that heart centre to deepen the relationship with ourselves and intensify our need for self-inquiry.

This Chakra is associated with cardiac system and the lungs. When blocked you may experience health problems including lung infection, bronchitis, circulatory and heart-related issues. You can have difficulties relating with others, excessive jealousy, codependency or being closed down, withdrawn. When the energy flows freely you will feel deeply connected and there will be a harmonious exchange of energy all around you.

A symbol of the Anahata depicts a twelve-petal lotus which represent the qualities of joy, purity, compassion, forgiveness, kindness, patience, clarity, peace, harmony, love, blissfulness and truthfulness. As we aim to cultivate these qualities within us, this allow us to express these qualities to others.

The Bija Mantra of the Anahata Chakra is YAM repeat this word during meditation when these energies are stuck, stagnant, imbalanced or blocked. Its meaning of liberation, letting go and to give are all aspects of balancing the emotions and the intellect.

Asanas to focus on include:-

* Ustrasana - camel pose

* Bhujangasana - cobra pose

* Camatkarasana - wild thing

* Anjaneyasana - low lunge

* Viparita virabhadrasana - reverse warrior pose

64 views0 comments


bottom of page