top of page

Root Chakra – Muladhara - Base, Foundation

Located in the base of the spine in the area of the coccyx, the Root Chakra is one of three primal chakras or energy centres. This chakra has an earthing element where the primal energies linked to the unconscious mind relate to our motivation to eat, sleep and procreate. It is the most instinctual of all chakras, your fight, flight or freeze response is initiated here – it is your survival centre.

When the energy is balancing and flowing we feel confident, safe, fearless and trusting in life. When we experience an imbalance or blockage we may feel lethargic, anxiety, fear or trauma.

The Root Chakra is symbolised by an inverted triangle (upward expansion of consciousness) and also a four-petal lotus (mind, intellect, consciousness and ego). The red or crimson colour is of Shakti (energy and development). The Bija Mantra is LAM repeat this word during meditation when these energies are stuck, stagnant, imbalanced or blocked it will help to release tension and activate energy.

Focus on being grounded and centred during your yoga practice to engage and activate this energy centre allowing for initial wisdom and leading you towards human consciousness. Asanas to focus on include:-

* Pavanamuktasana—knee to chest pose

* Sukasana – easy pose

* Padmasana—lotus flexion

* Malasana—squatting pose

* Tadasana —mountain pose

* Shavasana—corpse pose

* Virabhadrasana I —Warrior I

40 views0 comments


bottom of page